Inclusion Committee

Our Mission

The Inclusion Committee at Nalanda Institute seeks to foster an environment that is welcoming, diverse, and truly inclusive of all populations that might benefit from the contemplative teachings of the Nalanda tradition. Supported by these teachings and practices, it is the intention of the Inclusion Committee to nurture the inquiry necessary, both on an individual and systemic level, to interrupt conscious and unconscious biases and power structures that impede our community’s ability to mindfully hold space for all students and faculty.

We aim to promote the inclusion, equity, and participation of people of diverse identities including those of all races, genders, ethnicities, cultures, sexual orientations, gender identities, classes, religions, abilities, body sizes, and ages, so that all can feel welcomed and respected in our spaces. We believe that in order for our community to thrive, flourish, and succeed in its vision to our becoming and training today’s compassionate altruists, the voices of all of people in our society must be heard. We also believe that we can learn best when our community reflects the full breadth of that shared humanity.

Our Members

We’d love to hear from you. Please feel free to reach out to any of the Inclusion Committee members:

Doris Chang
doris@nalandainstitute.org

Aaron Edison
aaron@nalandainstitute.org

Geri Loizzo
geri@nalandainstitute.org

Susanna Nicholson
susanna@nalandainstitute.org

Helen Park
helen@nalandainstitute.org

Ali Power
ali@nalandainstitute.org

Tazuko Shibusawa
tazuko@nalandainstitute.org

« Equity and Inclusion

If you would like to participate in the Radical Compassion Social Justice Project, please email us at socialjustice@nalandainstitute.org